the DNA of character

Ed is my good friend and below his pic is one of his good son. It’s a bloodline of Edness complemented by a smidge more volume of Jac’s lovely mother’s grace and sensibility, enough to encourage but temper potato gun golf.

The portraits are two favorites because of their aesthetic and psychic connection, one that Ed, if not already realized, will find when his son moves a little different to Ska than Prokofiev.

This entry was posted in Images. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the DNA of character

  1. Ed Candland says:

    Hi Eric. I had seen these photos a few days ago, but just tonight I read the text, after Kris showed me some of your posts, Smoking at Legoland, the Christmas one, the anger one. That’s very nice of you to put those up, and at this very moment, I and the xbox addict are playing legos Batman. I had a thought last night, driving home from the last night of the musical, which was a lot of fun for me this time. It was about your bike, the Blackbird. I was mourning a little bit, I guess. Funny that, that I should mourn the departure of my friend’s bike. Mindy told me about your neck and reasons why you needed to sell. My favorite memory of that bike is you, racing around the block to stop the ice cream man, and magically changing the expression of my little girl’s face from despair to joy, in seconds flat. The image of her eyes is unforgettable. So though it’s a bit sad, it’s nice to think about moments like that. The anger post, which Kris and I read together, was so touching, and it makes the photos of me and the boy that much more meaningful. You know, sometimes Kris and I hesitate to write responses to your writings, and I know you’re going to think this is a dumb reason, but your writing is just so damn good. We know you’re not going for prize winning journalism when you post these, but it’s very good reading. I guess when we finish reading your posts we look at each other and say, well just what could we possibly say after something like that? But you always make us think, and we talk about the subjects. I see that I am now rambling…Eric, you are a good friend, and we are lucky to know you.

    • ImNoSaint says:

      My Dear Friends,

      This means much to me, more than I’ll ever be able to express. As silly as it sounds, there’s a motorcycle shaped hole in my chest. I’m having a hard time getting over it, I feel truncated. You are woven into that sense of nostalgia and loss because many good times were with you. Funny, I forgot about the ice cream truck. Bringing that back makes me feel better.

      I don’t know what to say about commenting, other than I wish you would. You always add another layer. I’m the lucky one here with friends like you two. Don’t be strangers over the Holidays.

  2. F. says:

    Your photos are amazing. It feels like you capture the persons personality so effortlessly. I’m not quite sure even how to describe it. Someday I hope to be able to do that too.

Leave a Reply

