Mary Ann

Reposted from Facebook, December 6, 2009.

Some have been wondering who Mary Ann is that I referred to in Carpe Angulara.

Okay, hoping this doesn’t come off narcissistic, it’s just that this was a big day for me. Owning this particular make and model of this car has been a dream of mine since it was introduced in 1997. So, I was a little excited to see this day come, especially after driving for seven hours to Santa Barbara.

The name Mary Ann comes from one of my favorite Ray Charles’ blues tunes covered by Steve Miller on his album, Born 2B Blue. It’s mix speaks directly to the curves of this machine. Silly, I know, but not to me. The song fits. Play it while you read the rest of the post.

And there she sits. Found her on Craig’s List after an ardent search throughout the West. A 2000 Porsche Boxster with a new factory engine from Stuttgart.

If I were truly narcissistic I’d be buying a better fitting pair of jeans instead.

This was the third Boxster I had looked at and driven that week. I have a model of the car on a shelf in my office and one afternoon a student pops her head in and says, “Hey, you want to buy a real one of those?”

Absolutely. Turns out she had one, but it wasn’t quite right for me. Found another in town, Porsche Yellow, a little too flashy.

Found this one and all the boxes were getting checked.

We took her for a ride. Strong and quick, sure and agile, everything I was expecting.

So I made the deal and have loved every mile with her since.

This entry was posted in personal notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mary Ann

  1. Pingback: carpe angulara | ImNoSaint

  2. Brett Menzie says:

    Porsche’s are fun to drive. When I was 18 I took my dad’s 911 out on a California freeway (118) at about 2am. I got it up to 150 mph before I let off the accelerator. The next week (while he was out of town, of course), I took it up to 160 mph.

    Good times, but I won’t do it again 🙂

  3. ImNoSaint says:

    You’ll do it again, just in your own Mary Ann.

Leave a Reply

